Sunday’s stock

I don’t know what to have for dinner. Why is it that that is always the million dollar question? On Thursday, if someone had put a gun to my head and asked me to make a decision regarding this or die, I honestly would not be here writing this today.

Thursday, I had an honest to goodness visitor! I was ridiculously thrilled. I mean, I know the time and energy it takes to get from A-B, and coordinating availability, well that seems to be the other side of a very rare coin these days (though surprisingly enough, I’ve managed to connect pretty solidly within my network recently, which has been fantastic).

The resolution to Thursday’s do-or-die was to avoid it all together and traipse to the pub for a burger and beer on the patio — most gratifying sensory experience since the previously posted about nachos by the sea 🙂 Nothing says summer like sunshine, good food, great company and cold drinks.

Today, I’ve slept plenty, read plenty, wrote plenty more and had numerous cups of tea — the first was sugar disguised as tea, the proceeding ones, without sugar are the real deal. Though, I feel as if I’m pretending to die of some horrible affliction, wrapped in my favourite blanket with two hands on a steaming mug, like when the wounded or weary are being nursed, pulled however briefly from fevered dreams and filled up with hot liquids brought carefully to their lips by someone with healing hands and an open heart, saying ‘Here, drink this. Slowly.’

The give and take is still there. And that is a beautiful thing. And it’s nice to have time to take time to be with and hear people on an authentic level. To know reciprocity after having worked so hard to build and strengthen essential linkages.

I can’t stop smiling 🙂 And I still don’t know what’s for dinner.

–Sam

 

 

Leave a Reply

