To far distant lands, right here.

I love magic. I write and dance, play cello and fiddle, sing, watch movies, read and eat good food and try and keep my life and house in some sort of semblance of order, and that is enough to keep the magic alive for me. I love to connect with people, places, processes on a deeper level. I’ve managed it today with pumpkin pie and Joni Mitchell and it being a holiday Monday for me; being home and clean and quiet and having nothing to do this afternoon. It’s the best feeling in the world.

 

Films:

I watched the film The Lighthouse of the Orcas just now and it was beautifully done. In other film news… Fantastic Beasts was like being welcomed back into a house full of dear friends, First Footprints about the very first humans to reach Australia totally blew me away, and First Comes Love was a unique family portrait across generations. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets made me cheer and laugh out loud for what seemed like the first time in a long time. And The Karate Kid (1984) was once again superb 🙂

 

Other:

There is so much on my mind. I am so happy to be right here. I don’t want the magic to disappear. I feel a bit jumbled and to be honest that’s probably got a lot to do with my brain being hijacked by hormones — but enough of that. I have to decide what’s for dinner, and check my emails in case, god forbid, someone actually sent me anything of unusual importance. Just knock. Seriously. I’ll invite you in for tea and pumpkin pie and whatever’s for dinner.

Over and out.

–Sam

Leave a Reply

