Ocean-going vessel

via Daily Prompt: Rhythmic

The waves slip by and the boat rocks gently. The sun is warm on my face and the sky is so blue it hurts. It’s clear and crisp and beautiful and I am in a state of bliss.

It’s just past noon and fall is upon us. Everything is tucked away safe and sound, the tourists have gone, the vacation homes have been vacated and that all-consuming anthrpo-centric view of the world has softened, allowing nature and its rhythms to come into focus.

The Great Blue Heron on the piling, the fish around the bouys, otters snoozing, seals bobbing, sea gulls calling. A family of ducks paddles past their larger mates, Canada Geese on shore. The water is like glass.

I continue stroking a few meters off-shore. Pause to look back at Dad just behind us –my mom and me– enjoying the single life, cruising softly through the shallows. I smile and look up into the Earth’s brilliant atmosphere, so thankful for the ozone and my transition lenses.

At this moment, I have no worries. Mom sits directly behind me in the double and it’s her feet, not mine that are responsible for the rudder and our direction, or lack there of. I’m snug in my PFD, with whistle and grub easily to hand. Ever since the dive into the digital age, I struggle with PFDs, always wanting to say PDF instead.

My stomach rumbles. I reach into my breast pocket and pull out a granola bar. I’ve stroked my share, time to refuel.

“Want to pull up here?” Dad asks. “Sami’s eating now,” Mom tells him.

“These are really good” — nuts and grains and fruit and chocolate. To die for!

“They are aren’t they,” Mom agrees. “Even Forrest, trolling the cupboards the other day was like, ‘Mom, these are a little too good. Do we have more of them?'” I laugh.

“Well, I don’t know that you, as a member of the MPPS are allowed such unsanctioned snacks…”

“Ummhmmm?”

“Mom and Pop Paddle Society”, Dad clarifies, earning twin grins. “Break times are strictly observed,” he continues while peeling down his own wrapper and taking a first delicious mouthful.

“Too late!” I say gleefully, cramming the last bit into my mouth and turning to watch the seals swim at my  2’oclock.

We paddle a bit further, turn around and paddle back to the truck, taking an interesting detour under the pier before hauling the kayaks out of the water and back home to a hot shower, music and nachos.

It was a fabulous weekend.

My heart belongs to the sea, and the forests and to superb incarnations of nachos, granola bars and chocolate.

What is your favourite snack food? Feel free to comment below 🙂

–Sam

Leave a Reply

