It’s all fun + games

Until somebody gets hurt…

Christmas Day:

Twink was the perfect gentleman, looking smart in his business bow and chewing cheerfully on his new favourite florescent green, rubber ‘rock’ #bestchristmasever ❤

RB the BT made a break for it and ate 150 grams of chocolate with tinfoil and I wanted to roll my eyes, laugh and cry all at once. Shit happens 😛

 Family game night:

Tumbling Tower. Myself, I had no illusions. I was the most likely loser, hands down. Forrest, the most likely victor, hands down. Says he: “I won’t lose; I’m after Sam.” Famous last words, bro 😀

Return trip:

Many happy returns and the 2 of the longest crossings in recent memory later… Waiting to be directed off the boat, I laugh until I cry, at some form of hilarity conjured in my weird and wonderful brain.

Rube to Mom: “Sam’s crying,” in a matter of fact tone. “Oh? Why?” Mom asks conversationally. “No idea,” my sister replies, voice tinged with amusement.

Mom: Laughing, “Well, at least you can keep yourself entertained, Sami.”

“We would have no idea if she were ever having a seizure,” my sister remarks dryly.

Me: Laughs harder.

Fast forward and the three of us are standing in line at the check out. “Haha! That’s funny! I crack me up.” Rube grins, looking up from her phone. “Look, see?”

“Hmm, well, that makes two of you,” Mom laughs. I cackle and Rube grins wider.

Just walking along and… boom!

Forrest commenting on some of the stories he hears at work, building crutches with the same stuff you see on the space shuttle…

“They say, ‘I was just walking along, and they broke. Just like that.’ But honestly? It can’t be done; the only way those tubes might break is if you ran over them multiple times in your truck.”

Days later I hit some black ice at the crosswalk and go down hard, as my Stix get ripped from my arms and slide into the middle of the roadway just before 9am. Prime traffic time. And I thought, Well, we’ll see now, maybe, how many passes under the tires it takes for them to bust. Thank God I have a spare pair at home. And, yes, Flip, that hurts! was in there, too 🙂 Apparently, it was the 9:54 lull, because not one car made an appearance during that 90 second interval.

Now:

Work went well, but I’m overjoyed it’s Friday. Tea and hot mincemeat tarts (and chocolate) is the best. Sitting here watching life outside my windows, listening to the Wailin’ Jennys and admiring my tree 🙂 Looking forward to 2017!

15732713_772021052944973_5528151350734259985_o

Picture: Mr T on Christmas Day, 2016 by Ruby Riesco

