Bits and pieces: an update

“There is a crack in everything/That’s how the light gets in”

Leonard Cohen has died.

And, these past weeks have been incredibly difficult. It’s not been smooth sailing, more like white-water rafting. I’m trying not to discount how I feel. To tell myself that it’s ok not to feel ok. There have been bright spots, joyful spots which I will acknowledge in this post. But there have also been days of dementor-like dread, and these are the ones I need to acknowledge, here, now.

This week I take another step forward.

I’m thankful to be full, clean, warm and dry. I like to feel the floor beneath my feet. I’m ready to get on the ice, one way or the other. But I am not ready for Christmas, thank you! It’s too bloody early.

Thank you, Jade, for returning my faith in the art of conversation and making me laugh. Dear brother, I’m sorry I forgot the garlic. Thanks, Rube, for helping me fill in the gaps.

If the gratitude and relief I felt after speaking my heart for 30 uninterrupted minutes comes anywhere close to what my readily receptive ear drums may give to any of the many and varied voices that colour my days, jesting aside, I am glad to be the one listening– and yet even more profoundly grateful to be heard. Both roles take tremendous strength.

Lastly, I feel I must mention how fantastic my bamboo tights are and how enamoured I am with frozen veggies 🙂

Thanks to everyone for sharing their light, it is needed in the world, always. That’s all I have for today.

–Sam

 

 

