A plethora of options

Silence has so many variations, uses, and connotations. I’ll admit my first thought this morning was “Would you just shut up? Give it a rest already!” telepathically transmitted to anyone and everyone who happened to be within range to hear the racket inside my head and outside my home, which was nobody. Second in line was Simon and Garfunkle’s Sound of Silence

Silence can be used to draw attention or to avoid it, can be supportive but also used to shun or sabotage. It can be termed peaceful or chaotic, quiet or deafening –and it most likely takes many other forms which I’ve not thought of. Silence, a plethora of options.

Many options there may be, however, today I will pick two, and write about the paradoxical gift and purposes of my dearly beloved noise-cancelling headphones…

They are amazing. When I want to listen to music and feel I’m at a live recording session in my living room, I put them on and the world disappears. When I want to listen to nothing more than the steady “Lub-dub, lub-dub” of my heart after a mad dash or difficult day, or simply to reclaim my sense of self by tuning into my body and its systems as a form of meditation, I put them on and the world disappears.

Most often it is a gift — sometimes it is a struggle, but usually, we are on good terms, silence and I 🙂

–Sam

 

*In response to the daily prompt Sept 20 (Silence)

Leave a Reply

