Barefoot on sun-kissed wood.

I slept in and literally woke up smiling, half a second before I rolled the wrong direction and flailed about in the gap between the edge of my bed and the wall.

I made gour-met pancakes of immodest proportions with apples, cinnamon, peanut butter, maple syrup and fresh oranges. Read my book. Had a spa treatment, dressed, finished my book. Marvelled. Played cello for an hour. Am sitting here writing this…

Everything is so rich today. I’m obsessed with the colours and the sky and the comforting beat of my favourite tunes. And, Jamie and Claire, man… It’s been a long time since I was pulled this deep into a story– where you feel you are there, could have conversations with them around the dinner table, smell the horses and the sea, see the ravages of war, feel their losses and share in their joys. And, now, I’m done. I have completed my mission, read all 8 books (January 1st to September 4th) a book a month, which I think is kinda cool! –and must wait patiently for the next instalment.

I love playing cello. I love playing fiddle too, but feel like for it to come alive, it needs company, another person, or instrument to keep grounded and fill the room. Cello, I can just sit by the window, plant my feet on the floor and make some noise 🙂

Today, the floor was warmed by the sun and my feet were bare, and the lower register thrummed through the room and my entire body. My hands were warm and body of the instrument reassuringly solid. I don’t fear breaking anything, can play through the apprehension and focus inward without flying off any handles — this cello’s not going anywhere.

It is so amazing to be able to create sound and infuse it with whatever you’re feeling and let that be done at the same time, in reverse. Words are very powerful. But music, sound I think even more so.

Anyways, that’s pretty much the highlights of my day. Bits of the ordinary happenings that make life extraordinary, which I appreciate more and more. This is the stuff that makes me happy and gives me strength. And so much of it comes from within, aided by a few indispensable souls.

I’m off to have some spaghetti and fresh bread and watch the sun go down before hunting down the next piece of this rejuvenation process.

Leave a comment