God only knows…

Laundry, Magic and Toxicity:

I re-watched Outlander last night: Season one, part one, disc one, episode one, scene one. It’s really the best episode. Just brilliant. I’d love to go behind the scenes on some of my favourite movies, to see all the pieces and how they fit together, kind of a whirl-wind tour, not to spoil the magic, but just to make myself that wee bit giddy and see the building blocks and meet a few of the people that put so much work into bringing these stories to life.

I’m keyed up and I have no idea what the rest of the world is doing, maybe it’s none of my business — but I’m pretty damn happy this morning and need to do a load of laundry.

I get that other people have opinions and knowledge and dreams and hopes and fears and important stuff they need to do, that they have worked hard for, but for crying out loud — so have I. Sometimes I need someone to listen and tell me everything is going to be ok, too.

I’ve been taking up a lot of sadness and toxicity lately and I’m emotionally fried. Some might think this is dramatic or for show or attention; it is not. It is the truth. And I’m afraid to be hurt, because getting hurt hurts! But I do it anyway. And maybe you learn some tough lessons, maybe you realize how much you care or how strong you are or how many unknowns make up the universe, but you come away with something.

I am worth it. I am smart and strong, beautiful and driven, compassionate and patient and committed. So, today I’m giving myself the gift of clean laundry, and really comfy shoes. And tea and a good book. Because a genuine smile can’t help everything, but it can help a lot of things.

God only knows what everyone else is doing today, or what thought is uppermost in their minds, but I know what I’m doing today and these thoughts are mine.

All the best,

Sam

 

 

Leave a Reply

