Like it is (1)

I can’t be sure, but I think I slept a solid 14hrs. It was great. Really, really great 😀

I’ve started watching X Company, and it’s pretty good.

~

The world’s not small anymore, people. Not in the way you knew it, not in the way it was. And the info is not going to be posted in your neighbourhood newspaper the way you wish it was, clear and simple and culturally curated.

I feel like I’ve had the same conversation 3 times over in three days. And I get that change is hard, sometimes it’s no fun and sometimes you end up in a bigger mess than you started with — believe me, I’ve lived only a quarter century on this planet, in one of the most rapidly changing chunks of time ever to have occurred, and I find it incredibly hard. To have to think about a change in thought and action having lived beyond that is no small feat.

And yet, sometimes the generation gap, the culture clash, is so apparent and so vast.

“Why can’t all the info be in one place? Why can’t people just speak english? Does the government exist to govern, or just to drive us all into an early grave?  Why does it have to be so complicated?! What the hell is Google, Twitter, hashtag, trending, Pride, YOLO, vegan, gluten-free, selfie and posting, twerking and Facetime?” Just give me a bloody phonebook and a rotary telephone and a pot roast and a block-party and call it done, you say. And I don’t blame you.

Is it just me, or do we have no history other than the list of stupid, at best self-deprecating and at worst self-incriminating Youtube videos and ‘news’ articles cached in our browsers along with the cookies, lurking and other guilty pleasures?

A friend once said, “We’re so boring, aren’t we? Really.” And I suppose we are. Everything we see is so one sided. We have been separated out from ourselves, distanced from each other, from history, from knowledge and beauty and community.

And no one wants to start picking up the pieces and peeling back the layers, because they already have so much on their plate, who knows what they’ll find, it could be terrifying there, exposed for what it is at it’s core, unfiltered, unbiased and raw. But it could also mean discovery. I’m haunted by both possibilities, and can’t believe I’m the only one.

~

And though it is a lot of work, you have to try! You have to start! You have to build something, share something, say something! Collaborate, network, question, learn, GROW!

I watched a film, in Anthropology. About the conflict between a BC First Nation and a local logging company who tried to lay claim to the Nation’s traditional territories, for the lumber and the money to be made. They felt they had a right to it, some residents who had been on the land for generations, a few hundred years at most. “And how far back can you trace your heritage?” says the arresting officer to the chief. And he replies,”Our people are estimated to have lived here…30,000 years, through the ice ages” (Blockade, 1993).

And I wish we could all have that history, that connection to each other, to our culture and traditions. I wish we could know it, rather than chase the shadows of it, and have true respect for one another, to be open to learning from each other rather than hold everything at a distance and look at it through our personal pre-concieved filters.

Inspired by…

  • Conversations with my elders
  • Geography 101 (Environmental Geography: Perception and Change)
  • Anthropology 201 (First Nations of BC), Blockade and the ethnoghraphy ‘We Are Still Didene’ by Thomas McIlwraith

 

