Here, now, TODAY!

My original Facebook post from earlier this evening, in its original form.

Authored by S. Riesco

***

HERE, NOW, TODAY!

Alright, here goes.

I was challenged to write something inspiring and uniquely my own on Facebook, by one of my longtime friends. And though I usually try to keep the fluffy stuff to a minimum, it took me awhile to decide exactly how/what to write about that would be from my perspective and my brain and also encourage some form of audience participation.

This is what I’ve come up with. It is my idea, I have not done it under duress or peer pressure or just to get attention. I really would like to know your answer, or at least that you took the time to read this and think about what I’m asking.

There is no need to identify yourself or anyone else. You can post it to your wall, or not at all.

Over the past year, there have been several tragedies and hardships endured and experienced by myself and others I care deeply about. There have been protests and shootings, victories and celebrations and all manner of life-altering moments experienced throughout the world. And I firmly believe that we are all connected, all beings, all systems, and we have to take care of each other. Remember to love one another, innovate and make things better, laugh with each other, play with one another, respect each other. And do it today, everyday, before we are gone, before only spirits and memories remain, however beautiful and cherished those maybe. Do it now, while you can still hold each other, embrace one another, share tears and laughs and great food and drink and sights and sounds and BE together.

So many people have died. So many people are gone. Some of them are people we know, but so often it is the one’s we don’t that make the front page, have condolences flooding in from around the globe.

“I’m so sorry for your loss. Such a tragedy. Gone too soon. A beautiful being. Respected. Honored. Loved.”

David Bowie, Alan Rickman, Dal Richards; casualties of war and terror and senseless violence; victims of disease and cruelty and astronomical odds; rogue waves and genetics; stupidity and ignorance; drugs and poverty; hopelessness, grief and loneliness.

I can’t begin to remember all those that have died, all those who will be missed, who have families, and enemies, and lives that were cut short.

Some of them were pioneers, had great power or influence, impacted whole generations, changed the course of history. Others were simply living their lives the best they knew how. And each of them deserves to be remembered, loved, cherished.

But what I’m asking you, now, is that today you think of someone you know. Personally. Someone who is still here, now, on this earth in body and spirit. And tell them how much they mean to you.

Share a memory, describe what makes them amazing to you, whether it’s that they always laugh at your stupid jokes or know exactly how you like your coffee, or have been there to support you through childbirth or rehab or buying your first car, or their love of art or travel or really awful beer.

Don’t make it fluffy, don’t say it in jest. Don’t be cheap on words nor write them pages and pages. Think about it. Let it be heartfelt and honest and readable. And then tell them how much they really mean to you. Call them, Skype them, text them, post it to your wall, or mine or theirs.

The point is to say openly, and clearly, “I care about you.” You, who are here, now, with me, you are a part of my life and I value our connection.

Rather than waiting until they are gone, or writing condolences or support to public figures or unknown community members (whether they be local or global), tell someone close to you how much they mean to you TODAY! 🙂

–Sam

