The Sammy Shuffle: part 19

Lefty loosey, righty tightey was the phrase I learned in grade 8 science class, in order not to blow up the lab by turning the knob on the Bunsen Burner in the wrong direction… 🙂

Let me start by saying that today was a good day; I got lots done and enjoyed myself to boot. However, I also took a stab at Stix maintenance, which is understandably necessary but unfortunately not one of my strong points.

I have plenty of help if I need it, just not hereHere I have my tools, my muscles, and Skype.

I’d been to the beach recently, and not disassembled the Stix to clean them afterwards, I wanted to check them both over, and knew the left-side elastomer in the foot needed replacing, or else the foot would continue to loosen off = not good!

After a consulting call with Forrest via Skype, I got the left one safely disassembled and reassembled.  Next! The right side was supposed to be just a cursory examination. Turns out, the elastomer was, like the left, seriously chewed on the right as well. And seriously tight. I’ve failed to get it apart, after muscling it for a half hour.

I’ve decided to take a break, write this blog, get ready for bed and possibly ring my ex-firefighter chum for extra muscle power and assistance tomorrow. I really feel like an overhaul/inspection by the pros would be best, but that will have to wait a week or two.

Nighty-night, 🙂

–Sam

