Grandma’s House

I like going to Grandma’s house– Grandma herself is not too bad either!

But seriously, I do.  It’s nice to be able to stop by unannounced for a visit, to stay for a dinner I wouldn’t get at home, to have someone ask about my day and be genuinely interested in what I have to say. I probably say more in a visit to Grandma’s than I do in an entire week otherwise!

It’s nice to have a good old face-to face-in-the-same-room conversation, with someone other than a complete stranger, and to whom my life is not a complete mystery. It’s nice to have that comfortable sense of give and take.

It’s nice to take the pressure off, to not feel like I need to prove or defend anything, or come up with something revolutionary and inspiring to say. It’s nice to be able to sit in the kitchen and chat over a classic plate of eggs and bacon, or in companionable silence in the backyard sun, to swim and laugh in the pool, or watch Disney movies, documentaries or “Coordination Street” on the couch.

I get to be a kid again and have some fun. I get to feel helpful rescuing the pickles from the back of the fridge, doing the dishes or filing bits and pieces of mail. I get to feel loved and appreciated, to give and receive hugs and also, to eat a delicious amount of ice-cream and not feel guilty in the slightest!

Thanks Grandma! Love you 🙂

