The Sammy Shuffle: part 13

What are the odds?

The odds of meeting a handsome young stranger who also has CP: 1 in 100
The odds of meeting an ignorant who will ask you to give up your seat: 5 in 10

Fun time riding the bus this evening!

Had a good chat with handsome young stranger who just happened to also have CP 😀 Haha! What are the odds? (see above).

“I hope you don’t take this the wrong way, but do you have cerebral palsy?”

“Yes!”

“It was an educated guess. I have cerebral palsy, too, believe it or not.”

GASP. No! Really??!! Kidding. Though, it really is nice to meet people who you can relate to once in a while 🙂

We’re both sitting at the front of the (packed) bus, when this “elderly” lady barges into our space and asks us to move and let her take a seat.

The two of us are pretty damn obvious!

I have crutches and a backpack and am at the end of a very long day. He has a cast on his foot the size of a small car. Both of us need and deserve a rest and a seat!

I stay put and stand my ground. “No, we can’t. I have crutches and he has a cast.”

The lady is oblivious. I try again. No response, other than “I’d like to sit there, please move.”

Turns out she had earbuds cranked and didn’t hear a thing either of us said.
I was so tired, I didn’t notice- otherwise I would have kept trying.

But, being a true gentleman, after trying and failing to get through to the woman, my new friend hobbles to his feet and offers his seat to her.

Are you blind, woman?! Because maybe then your claim to this seat would be legit.

I’m not saying we shouldn’t respect our elders, or give a seat to a person in need, but this woman didn’t outwardly seem to fit into any category other than “ignorant.”

She sits down in a huff, removes her earbuds and turns to find me giving her a hairy stare.

My friend smiles down good-naturedly, standing in front of me, gripping the overhead bar and balancing precariously on one foot as the bus begins to move. “What happened to your foot?” I ask him, my voice pitched slightly louder than strictly necessary.

The woman beside me straightens in surprise, and turns with a look of shock to feast her eyes upon my crutches and his casted foot for the very first time.

It happens ALL THE TIME! People turn a blind eye and a deaf ear to anyone and anything that stands in the way of them taking a seat they believe they have more right to than anyone already occupying it, until you bang them over the head with the obvious (and still, I’ve been sat on– twice!).

“I’m sorry. I had my earbuds in, I didn’t hear anything either of you were saying to me before. I’m sorry. Here, take a seat.” She gets up and elbows her way to the back of the bus to get off at the next stop- less than 5 minutes after commandeering my friend’s seat.

We talked all the way to the top of Lonsdale, swapping surgery stories and sharing our plans for the weekend. It was a great way to end the day.

Nice talking to you! 🙂

