Coffee Shops:

I have recently come to the conclusion that I have a definite distaste for coffee shops.

  • They are loud, so loud! The conversations, the music, the equipment all compete with each other.
  • They are either big, glaring and impersonal spaces or so small as to be claustrophobic. Either way they are usually so full and busy that you can barely move.
  • Baby stollers, supply trucks, lineups, phones chiming and screens glinting. They are hubs of energy that I find deeply unsettling. I just want to sit and have a quiet, relaxed conversation with a friend, but to do so in these places is nearly impossible! I can’t hear myself think, let alone hear what my friend is saying across the table.
  • And let’s be honest, food and drink at these establishments can get expensive!

Coffee shops are just not really my thing 🙂

