Old Guys:

#1. So, this was a while ago. But it still cracks me up. This elderly gentleman comes up to me one day. “What happened to you?” he asks. I answer good-naturedly.

“Oh, don’t worry, sweetheart,” he tells me, “Someday you’re going to find a man who will love you just the way you are– even with the crutches, and your crooked teeth and bushy eyebrows”  (all with 100% seriousness). He walks away and leaves me laughing silently.

I’m not perfect. But I am happy with who I am. The crutches, I love. I don’t need or want to take a trip to the orthodontist. And my eyebrows, well, I’m not too worried about those either! 😀

 

#2. More recently, I was shopping for a new printer— and ended up a rather reluctant listener of the life story of the one lonely “Middle Aged Man” working in the electronics department 🙂

What I wouldn’t  give to have been asked, Hey Sam! Want to go grab a pizza and a movie?  by a friend (or some “Nice Looking Young Man” 😀 ) for a quick and easy exit.

Sometimes I wonder where all the happy, good looking, young people are. They seem to be –and I believe, statistically, are– greatly outnumbered by lonely, tired looking, older people.

*the population is growing, the population is growing older, and older people are lonelier.

