Slice o’ Life

Here’s a short snippet I wrote awhile ago after a day out around town with Tessa and Kenna. Reading it now, it still makes me smile ๐Ÿ™‚ I thought I’d share it.

***

Tessa: “You’re coming with me! I’m so excited! ๐Ÿ˜€ Do you know this address?”

Sam: “Nope. Sorry!”

Tessa: “Ok. We’ll find it.”

Sam: “Ok.”

Tessa: “Do you mind walking?”

Sam: “No.” ๐Ÿ™‚

Tessa: “Ok. Let’s go!”

The sun is shining and the sky is crystal clear. The wind rushes through the trees.

We are off on another adventure. Never mind the terrible twos. Tessa, Kenna and I are the terrible three- we’re trouble ๐Ÿ™‚

My backpack is on, Kenna has his cape, and the joystick is at the ready.

On your marks, get set, GO!

The chair hums, Tessa laughs. Kenna trots confidently alongside, easily keeping pace thanks to his long limbs. And I find my stride. I could do this all day.

One, two-three. One, two-three. One, two-three. I beat a tattoo of sound into the pavement. This is how I imagine running feels. This is my version. It is smooth, quick, powerful, effortless and fun.

We move briskly along the sidewalks and roadways. Left, then right. Left and left again. Stoplights and driveways, hills and straightaways. I am in front most of the way. Our route is too narrow to accommodate the three of us abreast. So we go single file, Tessa shouting the occassional comment or course correction from behind while Kenna brings up the rear.

One of the last obstacles between us and our destination appearsย up ahead- a decent hill climb and short bridge crossing. I hear Kenna’s pace quicken and the chair’s motor rev. The two behind me shoot across the crosswalk and charge up to the top of the hill, hair and fur flying.

“I’m the king of the castle!” Tessa shouts down, grinning as I make my way toward her.

One, two-three. One, two-three. One, two-three.

I smile. I’m halfway up and my pack is getting heavy; my friends continue to wait patiently, watching as I near the top.

“Do you feel like Terry Fox?” Tessa laughs, “Hop-skip step. Hop-skip step” I reach the top and we both collapse into a fit of giggles, Kenna looks on quizzically.

“These gals are crazy!” his expression seems to say. And I wouldn’t blame him ๐Ÿ˜€

