In Focus

Wow! Yep! Understood.

At the risk of sounding incredibly ridiculous, I have to say that I believe I have found enlightenment.

My handy dandy little dictionary states that to enlighten is to “give (someone) greater knowledge and understanding about a subject or situation.”

And that about sums it up.

You know when you read a word in a book, and you don’t really know what it is, what it means or how to say it, but your brain takes what you see, and the history of what you have learned, and forms an approximation of what it might be, mean or sound like?

And from that point forward, the word becomes what you understand it to be, and not what it actually is…

For example, the character named Severus Snape. Don’t ask me why, but my brain magicked another “R” in after the first “E”- and for ages, in my head Sever-us was instead Server-us. Until finally I realized that there were too many “R’s” 🙂

The same process has been occurring over the past few years with my view of the world, and the processes and people in it, myself included.

Friendship, bullying, fear, triumph, maturity, intelligence, respect, creativity, strength, patience, accountability, success… All of these I thought I understood, or at least recognized.

And yet new evidence, and new circumstances have been brought to light, where I question it all, question the faces and the facts that are presented to the world, which influence our choices and shape our realities, whether they be real or imagined.

 

 

 

